Can you color grade better than "Normal"?
1388 14 2018-10-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RickThePoolGuy
lvl.2
Flight distance : 3527 ft
United States

Hey Everyone,

Does anyone have an example of a video shot in Normal and not color graded next to the same video shot in D-log and color graded? I am looking for an example that opens my eyes to a distinct difference between the two that makes all the extra color grading work actually worth it. I'm new to this and color grading is a lot to learn and master and I'd like to see some obvious justification for all the extra work. I'm not sure I can learn to grade better than the Normal setting.

Thanks for the help. Safe flying.
2018-10-31
Use props
parkgt214
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1167008 ft
United States

If you are happy with Normal and the grading you can do with it then don't worry about D-log.

I took similar scenes and worked both normal and D-log.  I could have lived with the tweaked Normal and if I didn't have the time I would leave it at that and have.  But, there are more options to change the looks of things with D-log.   Doesn't necessarily mean that it is better; but I can usually find a more pleasing (to Me) grade starting with D-log  and I am no expert.

Play with the free version of Davinci, use one of the free Luts as a starting or ending point and see if it is worth your time.  Only you know.
2018-10-31
Use props
rm708410
lvl.3
United States

I think the versatility of the DLOG-M footage to reach many different results is the big advantage over "normal". Once it's graded and saved or recorded as normal, the video can't return to it's full fidelity and/or be rendered as cleanly with a variety of different moods or atmospheres. DLOG-M is a definite plus to create more dramatic footage, but not necessary for strictly capturing accurate shots.

Highly recommend some of the free Casey Faris YouTube tutorials on Davinci grading.