Mavic Pro 2 Epic Failure :(
1866 23 2018-11-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MrTockley
lvl.1
Flight distance : 455719 ft
Australia

So I purchased my new MAvic Pro 2, as well as the Mavic 2 Fly More Kit, an extra battery and the joke that is the DJI Care Refresh for the Mavic 2, back on the 27th of August this year for a costly AU$ 3,200.35.

This is my second DJI drone purchase, after I previously owned a Mavic Pro for some 2 years without a single issue. I'm an ameteur photogropher / videographer and I film weddings on the side, and take real estate pictures with my drone. I was very excited to see the new bird in action and after around 15 test flights, working out the best settings etc, I took it out to film a wedding on the 29th of September this year. I did the usual pre flight checks, waited for the drone to clear its own internal checks and took off from a stable, level surface. I was on a large Paddle Steamer at the time and once in the air, I started to film, getting some great shots of the Paddle Steamer, and Wedding Guests.

About 5 mins into filming, the image tranmission on my iPhone went blank and a message appeared on the remote, stating "Disconnected". I didn't panic initially, as it has happened to me before on my old drone. I waited about 30 seconds and nothing. I could see the drone still, even though we were moving away from it but I wasn't worried, as DJI had claimed an impressive 8 KM range. After a minute or so, I started to get worried, as the connection was apparently not restablishing. I turned the remote off and then on again - nothing. I even rebooted my phone and the DJI App - nothing. I stayed out in the open, clear of obstacle's and tried to adjust the aerials with no joy. I found out later, that the drone had gone back to it's point of take off and had landed in the water.