FCC Mode in CE Countries
8223 19 2018-12-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Wannger88
lvl.1

Switzerland

Hi

Im new to drones and just got myself a Mavic Air. I already heard about the limits CE-Mode brings to the table and just wanted to ask, fairly straight up:

If I have the option to switch to FCC mode via FakeGPS, would I lose warranty for the product? I know its not really legal, but all I wanna know, does this affect warranty.

I remember I saw an answer to this (but just couldn't find the post right now) where the answer was 'as long as one is not using 3rd party software it will NOT void warranty'.

However, isn't using fakegps using a 3rd party software? I know, when you fly afterwards you are not using any 3rd party software anymore, so therefore it doesnt affect the aircraft at all.

Im just asking as I've seen the video feed struggle even after 200m, and it struggles so much which makes my buttocks clenching as I got like 600 bucks hovering somewhere in the distance...

So honestly, I'd rather go FCC mode, but if I lose warranty over that, I have to reconsider.

TL;DR: Do I lose warranty if I fly in a CE-country with FCC-Mode when I did so over a fakegps software?

Thanks a lot for all responses.
2018-12-5
Use props
JJBspark
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 12225059 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

Hi Wannger,

IMO you do not loose warranty, DJI drones are made to fly in FCC and limited by DJI due to confirm to local regulations.
But many others on this forum have a different view on this.

So happy flying in a FCC and/or CE setting.  

If you do a good preflight and after takeoff checks, fly safe, fly in LOS (well, most of the times) you will not have use a warranty claim.And if your MA goes |&!$#|&!^$# , 100% not to the fact that its flying in FCC.

cheers
JJB
2018-12-5
Use props
El Diablo
Second Officer

Germany

Tip: the author has been banned or deleted automatically shield
2018-12-5
Use props
Alex B.
Second Officer