Flight over Frozen Land
2386 23 2018-12-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BumblerBee
Second Officer
Flight distance : 639764 ft
Norway

As a follow-up to the photo series from this week-ends winter flight, I created a short video with the highlights from that day.

This is my first attempt at video editing, cutting down about 14 minutes of fotage into a 1:43 long music clip, with audio track dictating the scene timings. Davinci Resolve 14 was used for this (still learning the tool). I did not do any color correction, so the image is as Mavic Pro recorded it in D-Cinelike profile.

Music is the fittingly-named Marillion's ''Winter Trees'' from the ''Brave'' bonus disc.

I've uploaded the video to SkyPixel, which, alas, downscales it to 1080p and loses quite a lot of quality in the process.
An attempt at uploading a 4K version to Vimeo failed. I created an account there today; encoded a sub-500MB video clip with good quality (to meet Vimeo free limits); uploaded it to Vimeo; got a confirmation email, saying that it's available for sharing that that I am close to the limit, suggesting to buy an upgrade. However, while I was doing the last description tunings, I noticed that I could no longer save changes - turns I became logged out. However, when trying to log in, I got met with the doomsday message ''It looks like your account has been disabled due to a violation of Vimeo's Terms of Service and/or Guidelines. Specifically, Vimeo does not allow spam.'' No idea what Vimeo is on about, but for now they join YouTube as a hopeless place to avoid. I've filed a support ticket with them, asking for an explanation.

Enjoy the cold experience of the wintry day in Norway, and tell me what you think. Suggestions and pointers are welcome!

EDIT: The answer from Vimeo came 6 days later, saying it was a technical glitch and apologising. Here is the flight over Frozen Land in glorious 4K: