12Next >
2868 54 2018-12-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Daniella3d
lvl.4
Canada

Hi,
I am new to the Spark and DJI as well. Before that I was playing with a little hubsan mini drone and tried a few Parrot Bebop but had to return it to the store due to problem with the camera.

Last Sunday I was flying the drone near my friend house to take a picture of her house and some video of it.  I started the drone and it asked for calibration, so I did it, then started it, waited for home point to be recorded with good satelite coverage. It flew well for a few minutes, I took the picture and video, but then it lost connection to the phone and at the same time went straight up at great speed.  I tried to make it come back down the it was not responding to the RC command at all. I waited a bit, watching it rise to the point were I could barely see it, then tried the right stick and I saw that it was reating to it, so I tried to make it come down again and it did. Seems it reconnect to the RC. I managed to bring it back and land it safely but that was FREAKING SCARY! It did not reconnect to the phone.

The problem is, the flight log stop right before the disconnect and so it did not record the rest of it. Is there a way to get those flight data directly from the drone? the black box? will that work? I would just like to understand why it disconnected and did only the phone disconnect or the RC as well? did I lost GPS? not sure if I was in ATTI mode or not but the fact that there was no wind really helped here.

Moral of the story, I will never ever fly my Spark when there is even medium wind, and I will never ever get it out of my sight. I could absolutely not see it on the phone, since the phone was disconnected. If that drone would not have been in my sight, I would have lost it for sure. Very very scary and now I don't trust it.

So is there a way to see what hapened after the phone disconnected?
2018-12-19
Use props
Sparkz71
lvl.4
Flight distance : 24259 ft