Image Quality Issues
1098 6 2018-12-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DJ_Fan
lvl.4
Flight distance : 617405 ft
United States

For starters, I want you to know that I own two M2Ps, so what I'm about to say isn't throwing rotten eggs at DJI; but rather, it is merely to share my experiences and see if others can help.
I have been flying since September 2018 and after 157K feet of flying, I have finally come to the conclusion that the images produced by the M2P have some quality issues:
  • under regular lighting (bright lighting), the focusing at infinity does not seem desirable --- they are soft. I shoot at the lowest native ISO 100 and f/5.6. I'm a published semi-pro photographer.
  • under less bright conditions (prime light conditions, an hour after dawn or before dusk), the sensor is noisy in the dark areas. This is reproducible even in broad daylight but with a storm cloud approaching.
  • My application is mainly Landscape images and videos. I need and I crave for resolution. I use Lightroom and Aurora HDR and SkyLum Luminar3 for post-processing images. I use Apple Final Cut Pro X for videos.

I saw some videos in YouTube where people kept saying that the P4P are much higher in resolution and clarity and some even say that DJI uses a clustering algorithm to guess/average out the pixels before they are written into the file.

I wonder, just wondering, if such allegations are true and do these allegations apply to the Inspire2 series also? Are there any technical details available about how the pixel info are calculated and written the file for M2P vs Inspire2 ?

DJI Admins, if you have deeper information, please do share with us. I have sent one of the M2P back for re-evaluation by your techs to see if there are any focusing issues because this drone is particularly soft in its focus.

2018-12-31
Use props
djiuser_jBXOnzT6p8Z1
Second Officer
Flight distance : 507087 ft
United Kingdom