Skyreat Filters - CAUTION!
1238 13 2019-2-4
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
El Diabolico
Second Officer

Germany

Hello everyone, just one quick tip: DO NOT CLEAN THE INSIDE OF SKYREAT FILTERS!

Please allow me to elaborate on the headline. I've been a professional photographer for +20 Years so I proceeded to handle my new filters like I always do: Cleaning them before usage. The problem with Skyreat is that it seems that although they are Multicoated, the inside is single or non coated. This means that I spent a good 30mn trying to remove any residue from my Zeiss cleaning spray. I had to use pointy ear buds as nothing would fit to clear the corners... a pain in the @ss!

If any of you ever tried to clean a B+W non MRC filter you will understand... resude streaks all over...

Capture.JPG
2019-2-4
Use props
forbsie
First Officer
  • >>>
Australia

Thanks for the tip! I think I will be buying the PolarPro filters
2019-2-4
Use props
El Diabolico
Second Officer

Germany

forbsie Posted at 2-4 04:55
Thanks for the tip! I think I will be buying the PolarPro filters

You are welcome.

I don't know what's going on with the PolarPro... someone could perhaps try this. Normally a filter shouldn't get dirty on the inside anyway, I just wanted to ensure that there were no fingerprints or any other residue that could influence image quality. The price is still great and so far the glass is performing very good (no color cast).
2019-2-4
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello and good day El Diabolico. Thank you for sharing this information and your experience with us today and thank you for your support.
2019-2-4
Use props
jacksonnai
Captain
Malaysia

Thanks for sharing!
2019-2-4
Use props
dewarner
lvl.4
Flight distance : 87536 ft
United States

Thanks for this information.  I know exactly what you mean, and could not understand exactly what had happened when this first happened to me using a non B+W MRC filter.  What is the recommenced way to clean these filters?