UK Drone Laws
1881 18 2019-3-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
arcee2430
lvl.1

Saudi Arabia

Hello there! I'm a new pilot who's planning to buy a mavic air in the UK and be able to fly it there for personal/recreational use. This will be my first time to fly a drone as well. I don't have any license to fly a drone as well. However, I just want to confirm with the experts here or travellers who have experience in flying a drone if they're just visiting the country. Furthermore, UK has changed its drone laws recently so I just want to ask some clarifications as well.

1. Do I (not a passport holder of the country I'm travelling to) need to have a license to fly a drone if I'm going to use it in UK? Do I have to undergo some tests in order for me to fly or can I fly a drone without any license as long as its for personal use and I abide by the CAA regulations?

2. Are the drone laws posted at the CAA website up-to-date?

3. Do I need to register as a drone pilot and my drone if I'm just travelling to the UK and want to fly it there for personal/recreational use?

4. Is it correct that I should not fly 5km from the radius of an airport's flight restriction zones? Or is the 5km safe distance start from the boundary of the airport's flight restriction zone radius?

5. Where are your suggested areas to practice or fly a drone in UK? I'm taking a look at Wales, Oxford and Isle of Wight.

Thank you in advance to everyone who will answer my concerns. Cheers!

2019-3-3
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team