Having trouble picking out a drone
636 11 2019-3-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
FrankRizzo
lvl.1

United States

Hi everyone,
My name is Frank 47yrs old, and I am a first time Forum member and I do not own a drone as of this moment and would very much like to become drone pilot for many years now.
To anyone that can help me pick one out I would appreciate it. I have been watching YouTube videos and doing research on some of the DJI products that would most likely work for me. I have it narrowed down to 2 units. Mavic air is 1 and the one I would like to get is mavic pro Platinum. Is it worth getting a platinum at this point....? I really like the Platinum but I am afraid of updates we'll stop soon or not. I am not sure about all of this stuff because I am a newbie LOL any help would be appreciated thank you
Frank
2019-3-31
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello and good day Frank. Welcome to DJI Forum and thank you for choosing DJI. Both the DJI Mavic Air and the DJI Mavic Pro Platinum are recommended drones for consumer drone users. I will be providing you a link where you can compare the features, overviews and specifications of both the DJI Mavic Air with the DJI Mavic Pro Platinum. You may also use this link to compare other consumer drones of DJI. Thank you.

https://www.dji.com/products/com ... ndsite&from=nav

2019-3-31
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 2560453 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

High Frank.
This choice is an easy one.
Both are great drones.

In short there is a couple of main differences:
Mavic Air :
- Higher bitrate for video (little bit better in some circumstances)
- Lighter
- Better gimbal design.

Mavic Platinum Pro:
- Much longer battery life
- Better range / stable connection with controller
- Extra dial on controller for exposure changes while you are filming!
- More flight modes

If I might add a drone to the list : Mavic Pro.
I got a nice 2nd hand one for a bargain and have not looked back since.