**FOUND** DJI Spark in Chicago - long & detailed
628 9 2019-4-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
TheTourist
lvl.1

United States

Greetings DJI pilots - it's story time!
TLDR; If you lost a drone in Chcago I would like to get it back to you.  I know what you look like and where you launched from.  A serial number and some location specifics will have your little buddy on it's way home to you ASAP.

While walking through Chicago this weekend, my family and I happened upon a downed DJI Spark in a fairly major tourist area.
It was cold and we were on our way to an event, so I wasn't able to hang around to see if the owner was bushwhacking the park at the same time.  I'm a video producer and editor by trade, and knew the monetary and emotional value of the little Spark, so we carried it around Chicago for the day until I could figure out how to get it back to it's rightful home.
I hope no one thinks I was being sneaky by taking it home with me.  I'd rather try (and possibly fail) to find the owner myself than have it sitting in a Lost & Found pile in a restaraunt (until someone decides to "borrow" it), or in a police locker never to be seen again (or "borrowed).  Neither of those options would actively seek out the owner - at least this has some chance of succeeding.

Back at the hotel, I downloaded the footage. It was from the same day - roughly 3 hours before I found the Spark.  Amazingly, using the two shots on the card, I was able to identify the pilot and his exact launch location!  Unfortunately, that location was in a popular tourist restaurant, so the chances of finding them at the location many hours later was slim.  And if I may say so, the location was probably not the wisest to be flying a drone.  There was no margin for error in a busy area like that.  I have the drone to prove it.