Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Flying In the Rocky Mountains - dense forest and mountains?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
rfw1953
lvl.1
United States

I live in the Rocky Mountains, and will be doing drone video for my daughter-in-laws real estate business. I have a shoot scheduled within the next few days. This will be my first project other than a test project I did in my neighborhood to make sure I knew how to fly and shoot video. My first test project was a good learning experience in many areas. The attached photo was taken with the drone. I was going to add the first project test, but the file is too big.

I should mention that I have years of building and flying RC airplanes up to 1/3 scale, but I'm still a rookie in drone flying, though I've already moved from the bigonner mode to P mode with my Phantom 4 Pro + v.2. The technology has certainly come a long long way since my RC airplane flying days. Amazingly impressed with the technology today.

I've read a good bit about flying a drone in congested areas where there is a good bit of interference from buildings and various structures. I was wondering if anyone could enlighten me about flying over dense trees, near mountains and cliffs? We live at 9,560' elevation. The drone flys very well in this thin air enviroment.  I already realize that all could create a crash scenario if I hit something, which I will be careful to not do. My question is more about the possibility of signal loss when flying over dense trees, around mountains and cliffs???

I have the RTH feature set a 60 meteres, or 197', which should be well above the pine and aspen trees we have in our area. As for the RTH flight path, I've seleted all obsticale avoidance features and to follow the path flown to my RTH position.

The good news is that I don't have buildings,airports or towers to be concerned about...

Thanks for your help.
DJI_Photo - 1.jpg
2019-4-4
Use props