1267 6 2019-4-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DanielHoyland
New
Flight distance : 8176 ft
United Kingdom

Hello,
I am a resident in the UK and have recently purchased a Mavic 2 Zoom.

I've been spending a lot of time researching local laws and flight restrictions here and have come to the conclusion (rightly or wrongly) that most of the UK is off-limits in terms of flying a drone. It seems large charities / organizations own most of the land and prohibit use of drones.

Is anyone able to advise on large open areas within the UK that allow the operation of drones for personal use / cinematography?

Thank you in advance!
2019-4-15
Use props
A J
Captain
Flight distance : 13864580 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Where about in the UK are you?
2019-4-16
Use props
zergurush
lvl.1

Russia

Hi,

This article might help you with your questions - https://www.trustedreviews.com/news/uk-drone-laws-2019-3146402
2019-4-18
Use props
A J
Captain
  • >>>
United Kingdom

zergurush Posted at 4-18 18:29
Hi,

This article might help you with your questions - https://www.trustedreviews.com/news/uk-drone-laws-2019-3146402

The article covers flight restrictions by the CAA who have no control over the land here. I believe the OP wants to know where he can take off from as councils and trusts have banned drones on some public access land. The by-laws are heavily weighted depending on where you live in the UK.
2019-4-22
Use props
NightOwl999
lvl.1

United Kingdom

I've just spent quite some time drooling over drone options, only to find this and other threads about how very restricted we are in the UK to use them.

I appreciate the recent furore over drone scares at airports (what is the difference between an airport, an airfield and a private landing strip?) and would always endeavour to stay within the law, but where could I actually fly it?  Not in my garden, not in National Trust or English Heritage sites, not in parks or on the moors, on common land or even on the coast.