Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Swollen Batteries
1153 10 2019-5-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BrianKushner
Captain
Flight distance : 41420253 ft
  • >>>
United States

I've been flying drones for about 3 years. Never had a swollen battery. Yet today I open my Phantom 4 Pro V2 case and 2 of my 5 batteries are swollen. Any idea what would cause two to do that at the same time when never having it happen before?

I assume swollen batteries can't be salvaged?

2019-5-26
Use props
AntDX316
Captain
Flight distance : 3394731 ft
  • >>>
United States

Overdischarging can cause them to inflate.  If you don't recharge your batteries or put them in storage mode they will do that.  I think they've changed the design of the new batteries w/ the Mavic 2 and Spark but I'm not sure.  This is the problem when you have too many batteries and drones.  The ones that don't get used, battery failure.

I mean, overdischarging causes my lipos to inflate.
2019-5-26
Use props
Mark The Droner
Captain
Flight distance : 2917 ft
United States

In my experience, what causes them to swell is leaving them at a state that's higher than the safe storage level for a long period of time.  The auto-discharge feature should solve this problem most of the time, but for example if one is using a lengthy time before the auto discharge begins (e.g. 10 days) and then also tests the charge by pressing the button often, the auto discharge resets itself to whatever you had it set to (e.g. 10 days) and the battery will never get a chance to auto discharge.  Hence, you end up with a swollen battery.  
2019-5-27
Use props
Aardvark
Captain
Flight distance : 384432 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

How long had they been sitting in storage Brian ?

Even with the intelligent batteries discharging to storage level DJI suggest a full cycle every three months. So if longer then leakage within the cells may have caused them to deplete and swell.