Watery Grave for Mavic Air
1339 36 2019-7-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
tylertravels007
lvl.1
Flight distance : 311148 ft
United States

I took my Mavic Air out last week. Shortly after takeoff, it became completely unresponsive over the river and began increasing in speed as it turned back toward land, where it a hit a fence and fell straight into the river. I do not have a video of the flight, but I do have the flight log: https://app.airdata.com/share/BGDISm/GENERALNotifications.

The log states that there was compass interference during the flight and “Mode changed to P-GPS” notification. The warning of “Compass interference. Please move the aircraft away from potential interference source or calibrate the compass” and the loss of control of the AC was simultaneous and I had no chance of taking manual control to bring it for landing. It crashed shortly after the warning.

I have been flying the Air now for over two months and have never seen anything like this. The drone is completely lost along with my confidence in DJI’s product.

Questions:

1.) Why wouldn’t there be something written into DJI’s software that would prevent the drone from flying uncontrollably and faster due to a compass error? Some sort of failsafe, like when it loses connection with the controller, that would make it hover in place rather than speed up.

2.) Is this covered under warranty? I’ve only had the drone for about 2 months without any problems until now. I have a hard time believing that DJI could consider this “pilot error” as I had zero control of the AC when it crashed.

Thanks for your reading and your comments.

-Tyler
2019-7-18
Use props
DJI Gamora
Administrator