Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
About flying over the ocean
1789 20 2019-8-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ocq
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1343258 ft
Costa Rica

Hello, I'm pretty new in this drone's world.

I have a Mavic Air and I want to go to beach to fly over ocean.

Could you give some advices about it, please.
2019-8-3
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello and good day Ocq. Welcome to DJI Forum and thank you for reaching. It is not recommended to fly the aircraft close to the water. When flying above the water, the vision positioning function will turn off automatically and only the GPS and barometer are used for positioning, if affected by the accuracy range, and an accident might happen. Thank you for your understanding and support.
2019-8-3
Use props
NitemareTrainer
Second Officer
Flight distance : 11844 ft
United States

I live in Palos Verdes, CA and my house is across the street from the ocean.  I fly from my backyard over the ocean all the time and I have never had a problem.  I keep it at least 80-100 feet above the water and I have really enjoyed it.  
2019-8-3
Use props
Dirty Bird
Captain
Flight distance : 41442379 ft
  • >>>
United States

Flying over the ocean is really no different than flying over land.  Be mindful of the battery status & wind direction.   You don't want to push it if the winds are blowing out towards the ocean.  Also wind speed over open water is often stronger than what you feel on land.
2019-8-3
Use props
SD_Pilot
Captain
Flight distance : 10278435 ft
  • >>>
United States

I fly over water all the time. No issues and sometimes fly as low as 2-3 ft above the water. Since you have no experience stay over 12 ft or more just to play it safe. Watch wind/gusts speeds, keep VLOS and keep an eye on the battery life.
2019-8-3
Use props
HereForTheBeer
Captain
Flight distance : 5381368 ft
  • >>>
United States

it is easy...