Help Me Decide!! Mavic Pro 2 vs Air for Travel
1931 19 2019-8-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans8269d5df
lvl.1

United States

I'm a photographer and starting videographer so I love quality, but I'm also not sure how much I'll be using a drone yet, although I've always wanted one.
I'm looking to carry it around for youtube when we travel or hike (perhaps I can use it for some paid gigs too), but my biggest concern is portability, and then price. I'm a small girl that will already be carrying around a Sony mirrorless camera and extra lens in my bag.
I've narrowed it down to the DJI Mavic Pro 2 or Air
My Q: Is the Mavic Pro 2 + controller and batteries small enough to fit inside a backpack? Or should I just be looking at the Air instead? I do value quality, but if the quality difference is negligible, I'd rather go with the cheaper option.  I will be color grading my footage btw (is the Air ok to do that on?).  Is the connection on the Air bad enough that we'll potentially lose it anyways (in which case, I'd just pay the price for the Mavic Pro 2 so I know I won't loose my investment)?
What is your advice?  Thanks in advance!!
www.ninamariephotography.com

2019-8-22
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>

I have carried mine (M2P) in a backpack when traveling with no issues.  The Mavic 2 range/signal is significantly better than the air.  Also the Mavic 2 pro camera is better than the air.  From what I've read I would not buy the air.
2019-8-22
Use props
Oracle Miata
First Officer
Flight distance : 3759829 ft
  • >>>
United States

Plenty of videos on YouTube regarding portability and uses for both drones.  Have a look and decide for yourself.  Opinions will vary....
2019-8-22
Use props
ninamarie8253
lvl.1

United States

DAFlys Posted at 8-22 05:28