M2P photogrammetry test
1140 9 2019-10-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
izotop
lvl.4
Flight distance : 388763 ft

Slovenia

Was little postponing this (but it was one of my intersest when buying m2p), but yesterday i give a shot.

So, procedure was:
1) take multiple photos of the object (old church) with Pix4D (free app), bacically one circle oround the object, about 40 images. I used ipad pro 12.9 with controller,

2) make 3d points cloud / mesh, done with Metashape (there's free trial option),
3) import cloud points in Archicad (fully licensed), where i just for test draw some walls, according to points of facade.

I must say i'm impressed, specialy this is my first try and conditions were not great for photgrammetry, since it wasn't cloudly, where you need even light and it was really strong wind at times, i couldn't belive m2p could cope with that (i know drone well and location is remoted, so i was prepared) and get sharp photos.. I did two run for pictures, at 1st one i set altitude too high (about 50m), second was much better (about 35m), since it reveals more view from side of the building.
Everything went smooth and simple, i just set the trajectory- circle oround the object (location is found via gps in app), alitude, set drone speed, picture overlaping etc, press start and that's was it. Everything is done automaticaly, even lifting, landing and dawnloading images from the drone (wirelessly).

Now, if i combine also interier shots (with all that apas etc i don't think it would be big problem for m2p to do interior in open, wide space, only gps data wouldn't be received probably), i can basically take whole shape at quite good accuracy (i woud say something like +- 5-10 cm, but i think if i try to learn a bot more, i could do better).

Anyway, i'm quite happy, i could do so much things with this little guy..

cloudtest-01.JPG
cloudtest-02.JPG
2019-10-21
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team