Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Canada Mavic Mini in controlled airspace?
638 21 11-4 12:16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_0sznpSoW5hVC
lvl.2
Flight distance : 15164 ft
Canada

I'm new to drones and have been looking at the rules in my country for flying (Canada). The Mavic Mini is sub 250g and is classified as a micro-drone so the regulations are limited to "flying responsibly." This makes it a great choice for me except that I live in a control zone. It's class C airspace and I want to fly about 5 km from the center of the control zone in a small park near my house. Would the Mavic mini be able to takeoff here? Or would DJI's geofencing prevent it from takeoff?

Any insight would be appreciated. (I previously posted accidentally in the mavic forum but couldn't find a way to remove my thread)

11-4 12:16
Use props
DJI Paladin
Super Moderator
Flight distance : 318 ft

Hi and welcome to DJI Forum. Thank you for choosing DJI and thank you for the inquiry. In compliance with the relevant laws, policies, and regulations for Canada, some GEO Zones will not appear on this web map. Please refer to the DJI GO app for more GEO Zones in effect. As it consumes too much time for mass data uploading, all safe-fly zones may be hidden when zoomed out. For additional reference I will post a link where in you can check the DJI Flysafe Geo Zone Map ( https://www.dji.com/flysafe/geo-map ). Thank you.
11-4 12:55
Use props
djiuser_0sznpSoW5hVC
lvl.2
Canada

Thank you so much. It seems like it's an altitude zone with a height limitation so I should be able to takeoff. Thanks for the fast reply!
11-4 13:16
Use props
ssylca44
Captain
Flight distance : 115906 ft
Canada

No the Mini is still affected by NFZ
11-4 13:23
Use props
DJI Paladin
Super Moderator
Flight distance : 318 ft

djiuser_0sznpSoW5hVC Posted at 11-4 13:16