Osmo Pocket, change video aspect ratio - possiblity via update?
5344 3 2019-12-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Musvero
lvl.1
United Kingdom

Hello!  I am new to this forum, and a new owner of an Osmo Pocket.  I'm very pleased with it so far.  
I apologise if this is the wrong place to put this.  I have noticed that the photo mode allows 16:9, 4:3 and even 3:2 ratios, but video is only 16:9 as far as I can tell.  I'm no expert on how these things work, but would I be right in thinking that this means the sensor/lens combo should make it possible to shoot in 4:3 ratio, hypothetically?  Like a 2.7k 4:3 res.  

I'm coming to the OP from a GoPro 5 Session, as I was after more stable footage and the Pocket's gimbal is awesome.  I'm missing that vertical space though, as I really like the ability to re-frame after shooting.  A lot of what I record is ad-hoc and don't always have time to get it framed precisely.  The ability to re-frame vertically afterwards would be really useful, and it seems like something that may be possible to implement fairly easily, if the sensor supports it.  I noticed that at one point 2.7k was added, so am hopeful that this may also be possible.  

I think this might be a useful feature for camera-facing vlog situations.  I've noticed it sometimes will face track a bit lower than I'd like, especially when fairly close, yet in photo view it gives a full frame.  This can be adjusted at the time with the tilt control, but would be equally handy to be able to totally adjust the framing in post, with a bit of extra vertical room.  And of course, using this aspect ratio is just one option so wouldn't be a negative change as far as I can tell, for any users.

Many thanks, folks at DJI for an awesome camera and for reading this message.

Jim

2019-12-6
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team