Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Grainy video under school gym lights
2835 8 2019-12-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Kalamos
lvl.1
Canada

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Osmo Action.  I recently took video of a tournament I held in a school gymnasium.  I'm unsure what type of lights are in the gym, probably metal halide, or mercury vapour, but i'm unsure.

I recoreded in 4k/24.  My video came out ok, but incredibly grainy.  It was well lit, in terms of the amount of light, and the best thing I can think is that the quality of light was no good.  Has anyone else had experience recording in gym lighting?  If so, is your video grainy?  What did you do about that?

Thanks to anyone with thoughts/suggestions.
2019-12-9
Use props
DJI Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft

Hi. Thank you for reaching out to DJI Forum. With regards to the said issue. I would recommend to please try taking a video or photo in a different well lit location to isolate the issue. If the issue still persists, kindly please provide a short video or photo of the said issue. Please keep us posted for further assistance. Thank you.
2019-12-9
Use props
Kalamos
lvl.1
Canada

I've taken several test videos, both indoors and outdoors.  It appears as though any indoor lighting I am getting very, very grainy video.  I tried 4k/24,30,60.  I film outside, and I get clear video at the same resolution and fps as indoors.

Am I doing something wrong?  Is the Osmo action really this grainy when filming indoors?  Do I need to get professional lighting for indoor filming?  that seems bad for an action camera.  

Is it possible that I'm missing some sort of settings to get more clear footage indoors?
2019-12-13
Use props
MKosmo
lvl.4
United Kingdom

Have you tried limiting the maximum iso value ? If it uses a higher value than it needs it will be more noisy.

But note , none of these cameras will be great in lower light.
2019-12-13
Use props