How to crash and nearly lose your Mavic Mini (video)
1072 12 2020-1-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ErikB_Sthlm
lvl.1
Flight distance : 60791 ft
Guadeloupe

I had an interesting flight yesterday.

Did a real rookie mistake. Tried to follow all recommendations of flying into the wind, performing compass calibration and setting a not too high RTH altitude (to avoid risk of flyaway on RTH).

https://youtu.be/PsNfoEkN2QA

As I set out i decided to check out the rock. Never intended to go behind. But as I approched, my kids were eager to see what it looked like from behind. And transmission was perfect without any glitches, so I figured why not make a lap around.

Being an engineer, I should be aware of the concept of what a huge rock does for radio waves.. but curiosity took over, and the scientific knowlege kicked in just half a second before connection was actually lost.

Just when I lost transmission, my mind went 'hmmm, how high did I set the rth? will that work?' and then I contemplated running on the beach to regain connection, but a quick calculation stated that I would be unable to get radio coverage again before rth would kick in. So then I went back to hoping.

Just wanted to share my lessons learned (see the clip).
I was probably very lucky ust to get the mavic back. Even moreseo that it works fine after opening and reattachning the gimbal.

//Erik
2020-1-18
Use props
Minnesota
lvl.4
United States

WOW .. that's the second video I've seen where the MM hits a rock, recovers, and flies back.  Thanks for sharing.
2020-1-18
Use props
ErikB_Sthlm
lvl.1
Guadeloupe

Dont know why the link in my original posting was not clickable..another attempt:
https://youtu.be/PsNfoEkN2QA
2020-1-18
Use props
JJB*
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 12225059 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

Hi Erik,

Lucky you and a MM is a little beast ; fighting and win from a rock.
I got the impression that the climb in RTH did not reach 15 meters.