Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Where is home ?
591 8 2020-1-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Belette

United States

Hi there,

I had my first flight with my mavic mini last weekend, and..... I got lost, but eventually I managed to fly back home without RTH. This may seem like a complete noob question, everyone online is talking about automatic return to home, but how do I find my way back by myself ? (I've got many hours of helicopter behind, but the mini is way smaller and obviously, goes beyond visual range)

I was in a big park in Canada, full of snow, and from above, it was not easy to find key features, and also, I realized some trees were higher than my RTH altitude so I didn't press the RTH.
I ended up flying around the park until I could hear it, and managed to get visual contact.
As the drone was flying back in straight line, I looked at my phone and the UI, I could not see anything telling me the drone was heading back home. I could see I was looking in the correct direction, but the arrow showing the drone was pointing somewhere else.
Am I missing something or is the compass not calibrated properly ?
A bit scary for a first flight

2020-1-20
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5910961 ft
  • >>>
Germany

You should see it in the map or radar view in the app
Also, if nothing helps, start RTH, and after 2 or 3 seconds, stop it again.
The bird will turn it`s nose into the direction to the home point.

Aside that a quick view from the top to the HP, before cruisin` around is a little help for the way back.
2020-1-20
Use props
Belette

Canada

Ah good point about checking the map view ! I forgot about that :p but I was expecting some kind of radar, or something to give me a bearing for the way back, seems odd.... or plan B is to use RTH, wait a bit for it to point at me, and cancel it. Alright thanks !
2020-1-20
Use props
DJI Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft