Phantom 4 Pro for high-rise building inspections
2194 5 2020-2-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Razor87th
lvl.1
Singapore

Hi everyone, I'm new to this thread. Was hoping to get some insight on using the Phantom 4 Pro for building inspections, especially high-rise ones (>100m).

I had my first taste of trying out the Phantom 4 Pro for this feature, and i faced many problems. Some of the problems include:

1) Weak GPS Signal : I was in a fairly open area, and the GPS satellites should be good (i had between 9 to 12 satellites), but yet it showed me this warning. Why is this so?

- What tips would you have for me to be able to get a stronger GPS signal? Any best practices to recommend?  

2) Weak RC Transmission Signal : I keep losing and intermittently regaining the RC transmission signal even though the drone was less than 1km away from the transmitter. Why is this so?

- How can we reduce the onset of this weak signal? How do i select the frequency band for more stable transmission signals?

3) Very Strong Winds : My P4 Pro was blown around like a leaf; the weather forecast in the area stated winds were around 20mph and gusting to 25mph. I thought the drone would be able to handle it, but it was apparent that it couldnt.

- What features can i change on my drone in order for it to be able to withstand the winds better? How do i make it more stable in flight ? How do i make it drift lesser, especially when it is close to the building facade?

4) Is anyone using any software for facade and building inspection that works very well for you? At this point, any form of help with be useful for me to focus more on the quality of the pictures taken rather than having to fight with the elements and taking pictures at the same time.

Hope i can receive some useful and valuable input from the drone experts in this forum.

Thank you so much in advance for your help !
2020-2-24
Use props
DJI Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft