Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Very new and made a prop change. Now it's all over the place
1426 5 2015-6-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
williammpierce
New

India

I'm very new to flying and have a flamewheel.  My 16 year old son decided to "play with it" one day last week while I was at work.  When I got home, five of the Graupner 8" x 5" props were toast.  I ordered a set of Gemfan 9443's and installed them today.  With the Graupners, it was very well mannered.  It hovered very nicely and I could control it very well.  With the new props, it will act like it's going to hover when it gets to about 3 or 4 feet off the ground, and then it'll just take off straight up.  It's almost like the props were spooling up when close to the ground and then when they get 3 or 4 feet up, they unwind.  It shoots off like a rocket.  I literally have to move my stick almost to the point of shutting off the motors to get it to begin to descend.  I have the Naza V2 controller and a Spektrum D6i remote.  The motors are MT 2216's.  I have zero experience in setting up this thing.  I have done quite a bit of reading, but can't really find anything about adjusting the gains except for how you want the craft to feel when flying.  Should I need to adjust the gains?  Should I do another calibration of the Naza since it crashed?  Where am I going wrong other than I am completely lost on how to make adjustments?  As i've said before, hovering is out of the question at this point and landing is almost like a lawn dart.  I did adjust the motor idle speed to the lowest setting, hoping that would allow them to spin a little slower, but now, when taking off, they don't spin at all until I'm at 1/2 throttle.  Please don't beat me up very much.  I'm just looking for some help on a very complicated topic!  I appreciate any and all helpful replies!  If I've left out any pertinent info, please let me know!
2015-6-13
Use props