16537 6 2015-6-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fredz
lvl.2
Flight distance : 6322290 ft
  • >>>
Belgium

I understand that the Phantom 3 uses wifi for Lightbridge live video. But what radio mode does it use for transmitting commands? Is this a mode that goes much further than wifi, so you can still fly if wifi stops working?
Actually the difference between "remote controller signal" and "hd video link signal" in the DJI App.
How does it work technically, would be great to have some good info!
2015-6-19
Use props
aburkefl
Second Officer
Flight distance : 78612 ft
United States

I'm not an expert - if we're lucky, someone who knows more than I will come along.

The Phantom 3 is using Lightbirdge to provide the video feed back to you. It is NOT using WiFi. WiFi has a much, much more limited range and capability. According to comments from DJI employees, here's another major difference.

In most "add-on" FPV systems, the craft is controlled by freqs in the 2.4 GHz range (and is digital) and the video is in the 5.8 GHz range, but is analog. The signal controlling the craft is much less prone to interference.  With the Lightbridge system, DJI says this signal is digital and is much less susceptible to interference than the typical FPV analog system.

The RTH (Return to Home) function on your craft is initiated either by the user (i.e., pressing the button on the remote controller) OR in the event the controlling signal is lost - NOT the video signal!

If your Phantom is still in your line-of-sight and you lose the video signal, you should still be able to manually control and fly your craft back to your position. If the controlling signal (NOT the video) is lost between your controller and your craft, it will automatically initiate an RTH and attempt to return to what it thinks is the Home Point.