Do you fly for Photography or Video? Or Both?
1040 10 2015-6-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
cbarrettcampbel
lvl.1

United States

I am an experienced photographer but an absolute novice with video. Because of my experience, I have gravitated to using the P3P for still photos rather than photography, but I am so impressed with videos I am seeing online, I wish my experience was the other way around.

After concentrating almost exclusively on still photography, I took my drone up yesterday with the intention of recording some video... I was shocked at how different the flying experience was. I felt like I couldn't waste any movement of the drone since it would "ruin" that sequence of video. The flying had to be much more precise and deliberate.... I think you need to be a much better pilot to record video than you do still photos.

Another thought on video: I feel like you need to be able to fly your drone further away from you, and cover more ground to capture compelling video. With still photography, you can get great shots while keeping your drone nearby. I live in a big city so it is difficult to fly too far away...

Last question - when you are flying and recording video, are you concentrating more on FPV on your tablet, or line of sight?

I am curious to hear your thoughts on flying the drone for video vs still photography.

Thanks!

2015-6-27
Use props
classicalle
lvl.4
Flight distance : 8903051 ft
  • >>>
United States

Both. When I'm doing work, I use FPV on my tablet. When I just wanna fly the thing, I use line of sight.
2015-6-27
Use props
Michael M
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1984898 ft
Canada

Why spend more money on a p3p if your plan was to only take photots? The p3a and pro take exactly the same photos.
2015-6-27
Use props
cbarrettcampbel
lvl.1

United States

Michael M Posted at 2015-6-27 22:51
Why spend more money on a p3p if your plan was to only take photots? The p3a and pro take exactly th ...