3210 11 2015-7-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
shayd93
lvl.3
Flight distance : 247306 ft
  • >>>
United States

I'm not good with photography and I bought my Inspire not too long ago. My question is what's the best way/product to clean the lens and filters that screw onto X3 Gimbal because my genius roomate while looking at it left a full size fingerprint on the ND filter and I can't clean it in any way without smudges staying on it.
2015-7-8
Use props
daniel.frederik
lvl.2
Flight distance : 10656 ft
New Zealand

You're wise to ask about this, I suggest buying a glasses cleaning kit. They cost very little and come with a gentle cleaner thst can't harm the coating on the filter but won't leave a residue either. Dont worry if the result isnt perfect, any marks will be so far out focus they'd barely register. Good luck!
2015-7-8
Use props
w1der
lvl.4

Sweden

Fingerprints and saliva is things you don´t want on a lens.

A clean (new) fiber cloth (the ones you buy for your glasses) might get this for you ... but you want to make sure there are no particles either in the cloth or on the lens as this will scratch it!
Don´t rub to hard ... let the fibers do the work for you!
Some one might say that this is a big no no ... but I found just breathing gently on the ND glass helps the fiber cloth getting to the hardest stains.

I have a "lens pen" with me to get the dust away from the lens / ND filters at location.
Trying to blow the dust away usually only causes spit to end up on the lens ...

Never ever store your camera without a protective lens on it ... you don´t want to get "grease" on you camera lens!
I use the lens pen on the camera lens if I get dust on it switching ND filters ... I also use it in the back and front of the ND filter ...

2015-7-9
Use props
w1der
lvl.4

Sweden

daniel.frederik Posted at 2015-7-9 15:08
You're wise to ask about this, I suggest buying a glasses cleaning kit. They cost very little and co ...