Question about range in the trees
6810 11 2021-2-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djordan2
Second Officer
Flight distance : 79291 ft
United States

I've been flying my Phantom 3 Pro for about four years now.   So I know pretty much what it will and will not do. But I recently bought a new DJI Mini 2.  I was wondering how it will do in the mountians when I go up there next camping season.  My takeoff points will generally be down in the trees.  Can anyone tell me how it will do once it is in the air and there are a multitude of trees blocking my view of it?  My intent is to fly out about a half mile or so to a nearby lake to see if there are any open camp sites before I drag my camper all the way down the rough forest road.

2021-2-14
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

The mini 2 has ocusync 2 so it should be fine in this example.
2021-2-15
Use props
JohnDG
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1097270 ft
Malaysia

Wood isn't much of a problem. Iron and concrete is another matter.
The antenna of the controller are in the smartphone holder. Point those towards the position where the drone is for the best reception. Flew mine just over 1 km from my property. That should be around that 1/2 mile you want to fly.

This is the area where I am flying.

2021-2-15
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Can anyone tell me how it will do once it is in the air and there are a multitude of trees blocking my view of it?
Your controller signal won't pass through water.
Trees are full of water.
Your signal will easily go through a few branches but it won't go through a forest.
If the amount of leaves, branches etc is small, you'll have signal.
But if you keep increasing the amount of trees between the drone and controller, there's a point where you will lose signal because the signal will be blocked by the amount of water in the vegetation.
2021-2-15
Use props
djordan2