Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Suggestions for FAA-compliant anti-collision lights for Mini 2
1734 10 2021-4-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Skatin_Tater
Second Officer
Flight distance : 410676 ft
  • >>>
United States

Hi,
I'm just beginning the search for anti-collision lights that meet the 3 SM FAA requirement, and also keep the Mini 2 under 249 g. I've seen a few listed in my initial search (Lume Cube Strobe, Ulanzi DR-01 and -02, and the Firehouse ARC) and wanted to know if anyone would recommend one over the other. Also, does the FAA have an endorsement for any of them? I just want to make sure the one I buy meets the 3 SM requirement.

I'm taking my 107 exam in a few days, so I'm trying to figure out which light to get. I'd like to keep a Mini 2 under 249 g, but I'll need one for a Matrice 600 Pro as well for work purposes.

Thanks for any insight/info.

2021-4-20
Use props
Skatin_Tater
Second Officer
  • >>>
United States

OK, I might have answered my own question. Here are some links to the actual testing and the tabular results. I'll just leave this up for anyone who's interested.

2021-4-20
Use props
RobZilla
First Officer
Flight distance : 228550 ft
United States

Good luck on the test! Passed mine a couple of months ago.

As for strobe lights, none are really FAA approved or compliant per se. But since you've watched the video and you're getting your 107, it wouldn't hurt to get the Firehouse Arc V and also register your drone as it will put you over the 250g limit. I mean its only five dollars and would benefit you in the long run on questionable recreational or business flights.  

Also as noted in the video, the lights are really for other aircraft in flight to see your drone which is why its recommended to be put on top. If you truly want to be safe, get a 2nd and put it on the bottom or side so you or your assisting visual observers can spot it.

2021-4-20
Use props
Donut Michigan