Phone/tablet cover on or off ?
1650 11 2021-6-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
robpri
lvl.3
Flight distance : 635066 ft
South Africa

Hi , newbie here . Does it make any difference whether you fly with cover on your phone/tablet in terms of interference ? Or does the extrernal antenna on remote handle that ?
2021-6-7
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello there robpri. Good day and thank you for the inquiry. It would be best to remove your mobile device case when using it on the said DJI Remote Controller and please make sure that as long as the said cover is not made of metal that can cause any interference when flying your DJI Mini 2. In addition please make sure that the antennas are pointed toward the aircraft for optimal transmission as well. Thank you.

2021-6-8
Use props
robpri
lvl.3
South Africa

Thanks DJI Stephen, Im just confused with what is connecting to the drone? The phone or the antenna ? I just watched one of Captain Drones videos last night and he mentioned to remove the phone from cover
2021-6-8
Use props
JohnDG
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1097270 ft
Malaysia

Hi Robpri,

transmission to the drone go from your controller to the drone. The antenna of the controller are build in the smart phone holder of the controller.

Using a metal cover on the smart phone might influence the transmission of your controller.

However, I myself use an original Samsung plastic cover and I don't bother taking it off. I don't fly that far, but had no interference at a distance of about 1 km.

Just see that the antenna (build in the smart phone holder) are pointing at your drone. Eventually put your smart phone in flight mode, as WiFi or cell transmission of your phone won't influence the controller.
2021-6-8
Use props
ozoffi
Second Officer
Flight distance : 55128 ft
Austria

Neither WiFi nor BT at all would have a range of 1km or, under good conditions, even more ...
2021-6-8
Use props
robpri
lvl.3
South Africa

JohnDG Posted at 6-8 00:52