Terrain following?
1379 7 2021-10-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
PaulSWIdaho
New

United States

Hello, I'm pretty new to the Mini 2 flying, and drone flying in general.
I live is a rather hilly area where a half mile away from my house the terrain is up or down a couple hunderd feet. I would like to get some video maybe 50-100 ft above the ground, but to do so I would have to carefully manually alter elevation as I fly. Is there a way to have the Mini 2 track the terrain? Or if not then at least if I could find out how close to the ground it is so that I can go higher if it gets too close to the ground.
Thanks, and sorry for the newbie question.

2021-10-18
Use props
tibzee
lvl.4
Flight distance : 79616 ft
Switzerland

Hi, unfortunately the answer to both questions is "no"
2021-10-18
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

The aircraft has no sensor that can measure elevation above the surrounding terrain. Its only altitude measurement is via a barometer measuring elevation using air pressure.
2021-10-18
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello there PaulSWIdaho. Good day and welcome to DJI Forum. Kindly please refer to the post above. In addition I will post a link where in you can find the specifications and frequently asked questions for the DJI Mini 2. Thank you.

https://www.dji.com/mini-2?site=brandsite&from=nav
2021-10-18
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

You can set the Fn key to point the gimbal to -90 so you can quickly look at the ground to see how high you are.
2021-10-19
Use props
PaulSWIdaho
New

United States

Thanks for the responses and suggestion. I'll try the -90 deg and see how much that helps.

I gather that the camera is fixed focus, so it would not be possible to extract focus info from the camera for a distance estimate. Bummer.
2021-10-19
Use props
GaryDoug
First Officer
Flight distance : 1264639 ft
  • >>>
United States