o(^-^)o
Xavier1984
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1634843 ft
  • >>>
Switzerland

Hi,
I'm playing with some prores dlog video shots what i have observed :

- the DJI LUT for mavic 3 is really not good or very basic it miss a lot of contrast and saturation.

- This kind of shot requires to add some sharpen on the footage.

Are you agree with these observation and do you have some hints / feedback about the process to grade prores dlog (with davinci resolve) ?

Thanks
2021-12-15
Use props
KlooGee
First Officer
Flight distance : 16783757 ft
  • >>>
United States

DLOG is like RAW photo files, if you are using it, you expect to do your own adjustments.  And yes, the DJI LUT brings the footage back to Rec709, not a final polished product.  From there you want to grade it for the look that you prefer.  So I wouldn't expect it to be the final look.  It brings it most of the way back and then you are expected to finish it off to your liking.  

I'm not a pro colorist and I don't use Resolve, so I'm not going to be useful to give you hints.  However, it sounds like you've already got a pretty good idea of what you need (contrast, saturation, sharpness) in order to get it how you like it.

2021-12-15
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello there Xavier1984. Thank you for reaching out and for sharing these information with is. I will cascade these information to the designated DJI department for attention. Thank you.
2021-12-15
Use props
Xavier1984
Second Officer
  • >>>
Switzerland

KlooGee Posted at 12-15 13:24
DLOG is like RAW photo files, if you are using it, you expect to do your own adjustments.  And yes, the DJI LUT brings the footage back to Rec709, not a final polished product.  From there you want to grade it for the look that you prefer.  So I wouldn't expect it to be the final look.  It brings it most of the way back and then you are expected to finish it off to your liking.