Motor arm cracks
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
liningiv
lvl.4
Flight distance : 329409 ft
United Kingdom

I'm starting a new thread here as the existing ones seems to be getting a bit out of hand.
I have some 80+ flights over 50Km distance, and I am generally blown away by this fantasic product. For example when you try to explain all of the P3s features you just find yourself going on, and on, and on, as there are so many.  I have a brilliant collection of pictures taken over the last 2 months that would be impossible to take without hiring a private helicopter, and even then the Heli could not get to some places where my Phantom has been.

But, it is obvious that the shell is not robust enough.
I understand that the shell used is virtually the same as the P2, however the motors and ESC's have been upgraded.  Users of the P2 have commented how much faster the P3 is in horizontal and vertical flight.  I have no experience of the P2, but when I first got my P3 I was astounded at how fast it accellerated, and even more about how quickly it stopped when the controls were centred, was like having a set of disc brakes up there.  After upgrading to the latest FW the first thing I noticed was how "soft" the controls had become, particularly when braking, my P3 now takes a couple of seconds to stop from maximum horizontal flight in quite a gentle deceleration compared to before the update.  In fact I often find myself applying my own "brakes" by reversing the control input to stop it quicker and in the position I want.

Now I'm thinking that DJI were aware about the shells cracking, due to the engine braking and much higher torque produced by the new motors and ESC's, maybe on thier long term test models, and DJI made the P3 a lot less aggressive in flight particularly with the extreme acceleration and braking being tamed somewhat by the FW.