Sports mode battery consumption
12Next >
4774 41 2022-12-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
GT2022
lvl.3
Australia

This post was originally in product use and care section however, after advice that I should post it here, perhaps some further comments can be made?

Hello all,

I am new to drone flying and I hope this question hasn't been asked  before (yes, I did a search of the forum and found nothing). A few  Youtube videos suggest that the poster chooses to fly quickly (Sport  mode) to the area where he/she wants to take some photos/video footage.  Then they switch to normal or even cine before RTH again using Sport  mode. My question is that notwithstanding some of these posters  suggesting Sport mode can get you back quicker and it may save your  drone from failing to make it back, to me, a higher acceleration  normally entails higher "fuel" consumption. Any comments on this would  be welcome.

2022-12-21
Use props
CloudVisual
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 97545420 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Sports mode can get you back quicker, but this will cause the voltage to drop lower if flying at higher speed than Normal will allow. If you're flying at very low battery levels, you could cause a cell to fail. I believe that DJI now have output power limiting in some scenarios, which prevents the motors drawing too much current in these situations.

Personally, I would recommend just flying back in normal flight mode. The higher current draw from Sport mode might make the drone enter RTH mode early if it feels that the battery has dropped too far due to a lowered voltage.
2022-12-21
Use props
TonyPHX
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 11229610 ft
  • >>>
United States

Just like driving a car.  Go heavy on the pedal and watch the needle drop faster.
2022-12-21
Use props
Johnny_J
Second Officer

Sweden

TonyPHX Posted at 12-21 06:55
Just like driving a car.  Go heavy on the pedal and watch the needle drop faster.