Enhancing Reception
2363 34 2015-8-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Meleee
New

United States

I have a Phantom 3 Pro and just looking for any items out on the market that can help keep the signal strong. I am new to all of this but have had microdrones for a while so I never really went out that far. I tried flying it by a local river (I live in upper NJ) that runs along the highway (dont worry it was over the river not the road) and the second it got to about 600 ft away I was already have signal issues and the screen would black out. Am I just to assume that the second its out of my site I will keep having this? There werent any radio towers near by the river is just lined with trees. Is there anything to help keep the signal strong that I can purchase? Any advice would be great thanks!
2015-8-19
Use props
Northofthe49th
lvl.4

Canada

Best reception and best advice is to always keep it n your line of sight..if you cannot see it, it is either too far away which can be dangerous, or over or behind an object/trees/buildings etc.  which will reduce reception...
2015-8-19
Use props
jimcloud74
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1298317 ft
United States

Trees destroy signal. My suggestion is to gain altitude for distance. If the remote can't "see" the phantom, it has trouble relaying the signal. 400 feet of elevation will generally get you 5000 feet of range on average. That is with a stock setup on the antennas. If you have tall trees close to you there will always be signal problems. The only option around this is to mod the controller and use a high gain 2.4ghz booster setup that gets costly.
2015-8-19
Use props
toddf.perkins
lvl.3

United States

Do a search on eBay for windsurfer antennae booster. There are several people out there who build them at home with their 3d printers. I have one and it boosts my range by about 50%. They are cheap,about $30 and they just slide on top of your antennas.
2015-8-19
Use props
OzBlueDragon
lvl.1