Source of basic information
998 5 2014-12-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ncgo4
lvl.2

United States

As a newbie I would like to find some basic information. There are great resources on complicated things about changing cameras, etc, but I've searched and cannot find the most simple basic stuff.  How does the signal get from the controller to the Phantom?  What is the signal, wi-fi, radio, satellite?  Is line of sight required?  What can interrupt this signal?  Can I fly over a castle and film the other side without losing the signal?  Or do I have to run around the building to maintain control?

It seems crazy, but I have not found a descriptions or the very most basic explanations.  I'm sure I'm just overlooking the obvious.  Any help is appreciated.
2014-12-15
Use props
mikegil
lvl.3
Flight distance : 32730 ft
United Kingdom

hi Ncgo4, I am also a newbie, the best resource I have found so far is on DJI site, go on products, click on your model of phantom and then go on downloads, you may have already done this but I found it a great help
mike
2014-12-15
Use props
Gerry1124
Second Officer

United States

Your signal works on the Phantom wifi connection.  It is a direct line of sight.  Cell towers, power lines, anything generating a magnetic field can affect the Phantom if you fly close enough to it. If you flew behind the castle, you would lose connection and activate the Return to Home mode.  The default altitude for RTH is 20 meters, but you can change that in calibrations.  You would have to follow the Phantom to the other side of the castle to maintain control.
2014-12-15
Use props
Ncgo4
lvl.2

United States