964 11 2015-10-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
liningiv
lvl.4
Flight distance : 329409 ft
United Kingdom

I pose a very broad question here.
I have 125 flights and I have produced literally 100s of photographs and panoramas.
My friends have asked me for copies of my work and are willing to pay, but I have obviously declined payment, although my pictures are on their walls.
So what do I do, get officially qualified so that I can start a business and start taking payment for my work, or stay an enthusiastic amateur, and just enjoy it?
I have 3 major reservations about the business side, first is cost of training and insurance, the second is the quality of the P3 images, as I don't think they are sufficient for large scale reproduction, so it will involve me moving onto bigger craft and better cameras.  Thirdly as a pro, I would have to undertake risk assessment of each and every job, probably have to employ an assistant/spotter, have to consider every flight as money making, and just loose the joy and spontaneity of driving some where and having fun.
Have you asked yourself the same questions?
What are your answers?
2015-10-3
Use props
john_351
lvl.2
Flight distance : 128675 ft
United States

I'm a semi professional photographer. (UAV part only for fun)  which is pretty much more cut and dry then using the UAV, as then you have the expense of getting the FAA exemptions,  getting whatever pilot license is required (I looked into this sometime ago and forget all the details, except for "too much involved") .