Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Phantom 3 advanced -first take-off, first mistakes, first questions!
1808 11 2015-10-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Kubacci
lvl.1

Australia

Hey guys!
Long story short: 1st day, all calibrated, updated etc. Nice take-off, few minutes to fell the drone, landing. And here we come...
As a newbie I simply tried to gently put it down, after a touchdown I pushed both sticks down and toward each other. Yes, you guess it, it flipped. It stayed on the legs but the left rear propeller hit the grass (I tried it on nice even short grass field). The motor stopped and started making this funny squeeky high pitch sound. After literally 3 sec I lifted it up, motor did not start spinning the propeller still making the sound so being afraid it would burn I simply took the battery out. I noticed a bit of white smoke comming out from the motor just before taking the battery out. To be specific - hit, 3 sec later I picked it up, 4 sec later took the battery out so all took not more then 7 sec (I have a vid on sc card and counted sec)

After inspecting the drone I decided I would turn it on again. I flew it for few more minutes on very low alltitude (max 2 m), did not notice any strange behavior, uneven hovering, tilted drone etc. It started raining a bit so I came back home. I inspected the drone again and noticed there are few marks in the motor (burn marks within the wiring). I took some pics however it looks more severe on the photos then in real life. Also I noticed the motor was much hotter then the others. I have a feeling it does not turn as easily as the others but maybe I'm unbiased due to what I witnessed.

Has anyone had the same experience? Is it bad to fly it again? I'd rather not lose the drone for 1.7k because of the motor for $25. I would appreciate the advice from the more experienced users.