New buyer...info on note/tablet choices
1237 15 2015-11-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BillyRay
lvl.1
United States

I'm looking to buy a Phantom 3 Advanced in the next week or so.  I will need to buy a tablet/note to run with the controller since I don't own one at the moment.  I'm very new to the whole market of Ipad and Android.  Is there any advantage or disadvantage to each??  I did a search, and seems that most on here seem to lean towards the Ipads.  Do the Ipads have less issues, or vice versa??  I would appreciate any info.  

Right now I am kinda leaning towards either the Ipad Air 2, or the Ipad Mini versions.  Kinda think I would prefer the larger screen on the Ipad Air.  

2015-11-1
Use props
Quadular
lvl.2
Flight distance : 14682 ft
United States

BillyRay, I have been pleased with the performance and screen size of the Ipad Mini 2, I am sure there are lots of choices out there, and lots of opinions. I opted for the wifi model,(no cellular), the only drawback here is that you cannot use this device for "Follow Me" mode, other than that, the Mini 2 fills the bill. Hope this helps...

John  
2015-11-1
Use props
DJI-Dave
lvl.4

United States

I really like the iPad2 mini. It is just the right size and works great. You can find them for low prices now also. Walmart has them on sale for $200.
2015-11-1
Use props
DJI-Dave
lvl.4

United States

Here is the link for the best price I've seen on it

http://www.macrumors.com/2015/10 ... -november-discount/

Dave
2015-11-1
Use props
Westside Osprey
lvl.3
Flight distance : 95915 ft
United States

I use the iPad mini 2 as well, works perfectly. And the size is perfect, I also added a matte screen saver and a home made lens shade (all four sides of fabric and plastic so it is adjustable. Also wear black shirt to cut reflections more in the sun.

You can either cache the maps or use a iPhone or similar for hotspot on location.