Gimbal moving during timelapses
3340 15 2015-12-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
FabricioE
lvl.3

Venezuela

I'm new with the Osmo but not new making timelapses.

The gimbal seems to move by even a soft wind or non level floor. How can I make my timelapse steady? Should I lock the gimbal?

Thanks.
2015-12-10
Use props
martin94b
lvl.3
Germany

Same thing here. DJI promised to "work on it".
To be very clear: currently the Osmo is NOT usable for timelapse video recording on somewhat the quality level DJI advertises it:
- no 4k timelapse video  as promised but just 1280 x 800 (!!!)
- Gimbal slightly moves uncontrollable as you described it
- Pre-Programmable 2-axis camera rotation announced but not yet there
- The fastest frequency you can select for timelapse is 1 Hz (=1 fps). Sometimes I would also like a faster recording frequency (lets say 2-4 Hz) for smoother timelapsing (especially Hyperlapse).
- The DJI Tripod not usable without the extension rod (not mentioned in sales text, but required to do steady timelapsing)

The only good thing about that: all those issues (but the tripod one obviously) seem to be fixable via Software / Firmware update.
Hopefully they also reduce the power consumtion of osmo, while 45 Minutes is not really sufficient for timelapsing.
It´s christmas soon, so maybe DJI sents us a little update as a christmas gift?!

Martin
2015-12-10
Use props
DJI-Amy
DJI team

Hong Kong

Hi, the drift of Timelapse is an existing firmware issue, we will fix it in the next firmware release. You can lock the pan while you're shooting Timelapse.
2015-12-10
Use props
sdchew
lvl.3

Singapore

I just tried the timelapse function using the new firmware... no gimbal movement at all....

Well done DJI!
2015-12-25
Use props
nigelbrinkmann
Second Officer
Flight distance : 586391 ft
Australia

sdchew Posted at 2015-12-26 14:24
I just tried the timelapse function using the new firmware... no gimbal movement at all....

Well do ...