Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Fiction vs. Reality. What the new FAA rule means.
1905 17 2015-12-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
koine777
lvl.1

United States

I'm not a lawyer or an expert regarding the ins and outs of what this new registration idea means. However, we can have reasonable, intelligent discussion, without meaningless rants, or so I hope.

First of all, there are people who truly are acting irresponsibly with their flying cameras and it makes things seemingly inevitably harder for anyone who isn't behaving in this manner. So, to this end, I easily agree with the need for some kind of regulation.

Second, the registration idea in place is easily defeated by stealing someone else's registration number or by not registering and/or abandoning a UAV (that crashes or is somehow otherwise discovered) used in a socially unacceptable or illegal manner (such as trespassing, viewing neighbors back yards, hospitals, stadiums, national parks, whatever) since the registration number belongs to a user instead of the UAV itself.

It seems to me that even if a credit card is used to identify a purchaser, this is merely circumstantial evidence, because many flying cameras will be purchased by one person and gifted to another. In some cases, if a spouse were to gift to a spouse, wouldn't the spouse be able to choose not to testify against the other?

So, let's have some real discussion here. I really don't think the FAA is attempting to exercise some kind of Big Brother authority. In fact, I think they're kind of taking on a near impossible task. Who would/could possibly enforce this new regulation, apart from a serious offense? Is there anyone on this forum who thinks that a UAV flown into a passenger plane shouldn't be discovered and prosecuted?