Updating Multiple Batteries Firmware
4053 8 2016-1-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
coasteraddict
lvl.1
United States

I have the Inspire 1 Pro, and everything is going well so far (outside of the fact that the quick release props are still not available at partner distributors like DroneNerds and DronesPlus - does DJI expect people to stay grounded or send the craft in if the sets of props break?). Anyways, I recently updated to Inspire 1 Pro Firmware v1.3.0.60 last evening. Since I paid to have my drone's firmware updated before shipping due to a time crunch I was on, and I had my drone in for repair in recent weeks due to a different part also not available for purchase directly, this was the very first time updating the firmware. I am glad that I called DroneNerds to inquire about the process to update firmware when you have multiple batteries because I could not find any documentation about it anywhere else.

Now, I am not an expert on the drone firmware updates, but I figured there had to be some way to tell all of the batteries that new software was available. Maybe there are multiple ways to do this, but here is what I was told to do. If this is not correct, please feel free to jump in and comment accordingly (thank you in advance for any clarifications). Hopefully, however, this quick tip will be helpful for others operating with multiple batteries.

1. Go online to get latest firmware update zip file
2. Extract it onto blank Micro SD Card (so that .bin file is in the root directory - I made sure that it was the only file on the micro sd card)
3. Place micro sd card into camera on the Inspire 1 / Inspire 1 Pro
4. Ensuring that no remotes are powered on and that a battery with at least 50% charge is in the drone, power on the Inspire 1
5. Wait for the firmware to be complete
6. Upon completion, power off the drone and pull out micro sd card.
7. Check txt file to see if the upgrade was done successfully. If it was not, repeat steps above.