Redundancy wish list item
618 2 2016-1-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
skyvideoct
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1136230 ft
United States

As an engineer, I am always thinking about potential for improvements to the way(s) I do things. I bought into the Inspire 1 early on, and have no regrets now. Yes there have been some frustrating times in the past year, but I cannot look back without some precious moments captured that make me grin.

So, the point is to explore what can be considered in future renditions of the Inspire platform. I had always planned on an eventual purchase of either a S900 or S1000 for a true platform with redundancy to protect my camera investment put aloft. I have a Lumix GH4, G7 ready to go. But, it's time to rethink those plans relative to the evolutions. I have also upgraded to the X5 camera with Olympus 12,25,45 primes as well as a 14-45. These are all very valuable on the various camera plaforms, including the X5. The X5 package on the Inspre platform rivals any "pro" platform for useabailty except for catastrophic rotor failures!

Now we get to the one element which needs to be addressed, redundancy and inherant failure volatility of the quadcopter. I mght also add that I fly a 3DR X8 for survey work. The latter has the beloved redundancy of dual rotors on each arm and can recover from disasterous failure if one motor fails on an arm. So, the following is my suggestion for consideration by quadcopter engineers: