Which filters to buy: brand and type.
964 10 2016-1-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
artcuevas
lvl.1

Mexico

I am new to photography and drones. I have been making some research in order to make better videos and take better pics. Sometimes there is a lot of sunlight, so I get bad pics and video. Which filters should I get: only the DJI ones, the 6 pack from polar pro, the graduated ones from polar pro? Are the polarized ND8 and ND16 filters worth the extra cost? Are the graduated filters worth it?

PS. I live in Mexico, I have to pay extra for shipping. That's why I want to buy the correct ones.

2016-1-10
Use props
ranges
lvl.3

United States

I hope someone chimes in as I am interested in the same information.
2016-1-10
Use props
dacofty
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1061345 ft
  • >>>
United States

Me as well,  interested in better filters
2016-1-10
Use props
aopisa
lvl.4
Flight distance : 430686 ft
United States

First, you need to know why, if and when to use an ND filter. Don't just jump on the filter band wagon because everyone else is.

Many use Polar Pro. Also Snake River Prototyping and DJI. Some use Tacos which are lighter. I think the less weight on the camera and gimbal the better. If you are shooting in a bright area the higher numbers are better, ND8, 16, 32 or even 64. I haver never used an ND4 and even ND8 is limited at times for me.

If you are new to drones and photograpahy especially, it is better that you learn the basics of exposure, compostion, smooth movement, editing, etc. before you go complicationg your life with filters.