Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
OSMO needs Geotagging
1915 5 2016-1-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
pinpointmapping
Second Officer
Flight distance : 5345105 ft
  • >>>
United States

Aloha DJI Amy, Ken and others,
Let me begin by saying Thanks for all the info and support you folks provide.  I know we forum folk can be demanding and difficult, but your presence on the boards and feedback is greatly appreciated.
I Have been enjoying playing with OSMO, but have found a software shortcoming that would be GREAT if could be resolved.  I work as a GIS Analyst here in Hawaii and started using Drones for the purpose of creating high resolution orthophotos and 3D models (Which works great by the way).  It would be wonderful if images taken with the DJI OSMO could be Geotagged as well.  I understand that the OSMO doesn't have an onboard GPS like the Inspire, but the iPads and iPhones (and android probably too) devices that We use to control the OSMO typically have GPS/location capabilities.  Can you have the Software Engineer folks see if they could get the location data from the controller device (if available) to Geotag the images.
The good folks at ESRI just announced a new tool called Photo Survey (http://solutions.arcgis.com/local-government/help/photo-survey/).  They appear to be using a Garmin Camera (non stabilized).  I can imagine municipalities nation wide using and OSMO for this instead (if only it Geotagged photos)

2016-1-22
Use props
pinpointmapping
Second Officer
  • >>>
United States

This is an image from the ESRI website showing the camera they are using (a non stabilized Garmin from the looks of it).  This is a great use for an OSMO & Vehicle Mount....
2016-1-22
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

pinpointmapping Posted at 2016-1-23 07:28
This is an image from the ESRI website showing the camera they are using (a non stabilized Garmin f ...