Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Flight Path / RTH
1732 18 2016-1-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MSGNitro
lvl.4

United States

I'm a noob to this... but have been watching videos and reading as much as I can before I get the P3A tomorrow.

I read a few posts in regards to lost drones based on the possibility that they hit an obstacle due to lack of preparation of the pilot or poor settings. One option that was brought up that I thought interesting was the "option" to allow the pilot the ability to set the RTH feature to return on the path taken. There were some pro's and con's

Pro
If the drone flies behind a building, and the RTH height is below the building height (error on pilot setting)... the drone would crash. A flight path would help in the return.
(Opinion)   I think if the user set a RTH path to be the flight path taken, the drone should go to the RTH height (as long as flight was completely open) and then fly on the path back. Also, the battery consumption should be monitored during this setting as to give the drone enough time to RTH.

Con
See Pro re: battery life. If the battery is not monitored during flight, there may not be enough to RTH.
It's possible that the flight path was compromised since takeoff. Direct path to home might work better.

Anyone else want to add some Pro's / Con's?

2016-1-28
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

Best solution is don't fly behind buildings and if you do, set the RTH altitude above the building.
2016-1-28
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

I never intentionally invoke RTH, I always fly my aircraft manually. But if for some reason the aircraft went into RTH mode, I would want it to fly the most direct route back to me.
2016-1-28
Use props
nigelw
First Officer
Flight distance : 518084 ft
United Kingdom

Cons:

It encourages people to fly out of sight, which isn't the cleverest idea.