2843 35 2016-2-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Heli-Pilot
lvl.1
Flight distance : 17589 ft
United States

Hi All,
Since I am a new P3 pilot, and have been reading alot of what and what NOT to do while flying to try and become an educated, proficient drone pilot. Thaat said, I was a little terrified about the possibility of an inadvertant CSC while flying. So, using an old hotel room key, I made a simple guard to gate the left stick. A couple of small pieces of velcro will let me put it into place after starting the motors and will prevent me from moving the stick to the lower corners. Sure, it will also restrict me from yawing upon descent but at this point in my flying, I'm sure I will not notice too much. Since accidental CSC is such a dangerous and catastophic event, a small bit of prevention is warranted at least during inital stages of learning to fly.
Others may laugh but similar things are used in aviation. When learning to fly Helicopters, the Robinsons I flew had a little plastic tube you would put over the mixture cutoff to help prevent it from accidentally getting pulled during flight, which like CSC kills the engine!

20160205_142436.png
2016-2-5
Use props
golphinn
lvl.2
Flight distance : 190994 ft
United States

I picked up one of these from Phantom Help and it does a great job.  CSC Safety
2016-2-5
Use props
Heli-Pilot
lvl.1
United States

That is awesome! I hadn't seen that before. Ordering now! Thanks for the link!
2016-2-5
Use props
golphinn
lvl.2
Flight distance : 190994 ft
United States

Heli-Pilot Posted at 2016-2-5 18:18
That is awesome! I hadn't seen that before. Ordering now! Thanks for the link!

No problem, hope it helps.  So simple, but so helpful.  One less thing to think about while flying.
2016-2-5
Use props
Heli-Pilot
lvl.1
United States

AMEN! And, it's way more elegant of a solution than my Rube Goldberg edition!
Thanks again!
2016-2-5
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia