Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
happy->scared->infuriated->relieved->funny->confused
895 6 2016-2-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
SpaceBass
lvl.1
United States

Over the weekend I was finally far enough from a red geofence zone to fly my new PA3 for the first time. I really enjoyed the experience and was pleased with how easy and how much fun it was to fly!  (I'm a licensed pilot and have some previous quadcopter experience).
I was getting a good signal at 500m so I increased the range to 600m. Right on the boundry of the 600m circle I went from a fine signal to no signal at all. The bird's altitute was 150m and I know there isn't anything for miles that tall so I was reasonably sure I haddn't hit anything.

I waited a minute or two hoping the automatic return to home would send it zooming back to me. When I didn't see anything, I set out walking, hoping it was hovering somewhere and if I got closer, I'd get a signal again.

I traced the entire flightpath on the map and checked all the trees and alleys along the way. Nothing. By this point I was getting pretty upset at the idea I'd lost my brand new expensive drone. I was also upset that it was so easy to lose.

I walked back to my car (and starting point) and once I was within 20 feet of the start point, I regained signal. There was my PA3 sitting in the grass being nosed by a very cute puppy.

Looking at the fottage later, I see the bird over my head as I'm walking the flight path looking for it. Kinda funny.

So, while I'm ultimatly relieved and can laugh at the whole thing, I'm also a bit confused. Looking at the attached screenshot, I cannot understnd why I wouldn't have signal at all. My antennae were at a 45 degree angle - not ideal for right above me, but not pointing stright up either. At many points during the bird's flight back to me and my walk towards it, I think I should have regained signal. Any thoguhts as to why it didnt?

2016-2-21