Camera questions
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
info.therenders
lvl.2
Flight distance : 141070 ft
United States

Greetings everyone, I have a question about the Phantom 3 pro's camera that I can't find information on and maybe I can get that here.  I'm a CG artist that specializes in architectural renderings and animations, I bought the drone in the hopes that I could use it in my work.  If you’re interested in the kind of work I'm looking to do with the Phantom watch the video below, basically I'm going to composite 3d models onto a background plate that I'll shoot with the drone.  In order to do that I have to run the footage through a program that re-creates the camera's position and then bring that information into a 3d modeling program.  All of that has been successful however there seems to be a discrepancy between the camera lens the software predicts and the actual lens on the drone.  I know the camera lens has a 94 degree FOV but the software keeps saying it's about a 75 degree FOV, I think this may be due to the distortion of the lens but I'm not sure because I can't find any info on the lens.  The software estimates the lens of the camera at 13mm, I'm not sure if this is correct, can anyone tell me what it is?  Thanks for your help.

password: big tree

2016-3-2
Use props
DJI-Amy
DJI team

Hong Kong

You can check the specs of the camera here. http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-3-pro/info#specs
2016-3-4
Use props
QBK
lvl.1

United States

The focal length of the lens is 3.61mm, but (with apologies if this is obvious), the sensor on the camera is a "1/2.3-inch" sensor, which measures 6.17mm x 4.55mm.  Since the standard 35mm frame is 36mm x 24mm, the P3 has a crop factor between 5.27 and 5.83, meaning that its lens gives the same FOV as a 19-21mm lens on a standard 35mm camera.