A noobs' thoughts on P4
990 7 2016-3-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
morgro269
lvl.1

United States

I'm a newbie to the drone game.  I have a little Syma x5 and decided to buy the P4 the day it was available at the Apple store.  Say what you want about the $30 Syma, but I feel it was great to learn how to fly a quadcopter.  So, I've had it for roughly a week now and absolutely love it.  I had to update the P4 out of the box. I followed the directions in the app and that wasn't too bad.  I was able to get my first flight in after that.  I couldn't believe how steady it was in the air.  I just sits there like it's anchored in the sky.  Very cool.

I took it out the next day and played around with many of the features.  I used the object tracking to have the drone follow my dogs through a field.  It worked great.  The only time it had an issue was if there a sharp and sudden change in direction.  I used the point of interest for a bit.  That also work pretty well.  Maybe I'm doing wrong, but I feel like it would make more sense to highlight something (similar to the tracking feature) and the P4 circle the object and keeps the camera on it.  I flew it out over some water and found some ducks.  I followed them around for a bit while recording in 1080p@ 120fps.  I figure the ducks would take off as soon as they saw the P4.  Nope.  They were cool with it.  Check out the video clip I've attached.  I think it came out pretty good.  I love the slow mo when the female flaps her wings.
Duck vid-